Your Guide To...BHIVA Standards of Care for People Living with HIV

The BHIVA Standards of Care for People Living with HIV (2018 standards) were published in 2018. They are great - but they are long and hard to understand in some places. So a group of people living with HIV have produced this "Your Guide to…" the 2018 Standards. It aims to tell you about what you should expect when getting your HIV care. There is some useful general information in the Foreword; and there are 8 Standards that cover all aspects of HIV care in the UK throughout your HIV journey…such as testing and diagnosis; starting HIV treatment; sexual health; mental health and emotional wellbeing; and more. We hope you find this Guide helpful and easy to use...there is a quick survey in Additional Information about this, so we can try to improve things for next time.

Your Guide to...BHIVA Standards of Care for People Living with HIV



1. Testing, diagnosis and prevention

2. Person-centred care

3. HIV outpatient care and treatment

4. Complex HIV care

5. Sexual and reproductive health

6. Psychological care

7. HIV across the life course

8. Developing and maintaining excellent care